A&M System HUB Program

Commitment

The Texas A&M University System is committed to promoting the participation of minority, women-owned, and small businesses through the Historically Undertilized Business (HUB) Program for the procurement of goods and/or services. The procurement process utilized by the A&M System seeks to provide equal opportunity and equal access in the design, receipt and award of procurement opportunities managed by each A&M System member.

The Texas A&M University System will administer its HUB Program under current State of Texas statutes and administrative codes, the A&M System policies and regulations, and the HUB Performance Improvement Plan. Each A&M System employee who is responsible for conducting business with outside vendors has the responsibility of making a “good faith effort” of ensuring that HUBs are afforded an equitable opportunity to compete for all procurement and contracting activies of the A&M System.

Goal

To involve qualified HUBs to the greatest extent feasible in the A&M System’s construction contracting, professional services, and purchases, leases or rentals of all supplies, materials, services, and equipment.

Strategy

The Texas A&M University System HUB Program was developed to provide opportunities for the women and minority-owned business community. Elements of the program include:

  • Outreach efforts that include networking with HUBs at economic opportunity forums, symposiums, and HUB fairs, as well as communicating with small and minority business development centers, chambers of commerce, and other HUB associations;
  • Procedures and record keeping process that will measure program effectiveness;
  • Coordination efforts that include dissemination of information to System members regarding their good faith efforts to include HUBs in procurement opportunities, vendor lists, and reporting requirements; and,
  • Other activities that promote the proper training of personnel.

Laws, Codes Policies and Regulations

The Texas A&M University System is committed to complying with the existing laws, codes, policies and regulations governing the Historically Underutilized Business Program. In addition to the Texas governing laws and codes, the A&M System has adopted the following policies, regulations and initiatives:

HUB Subcontracting Plan

It is the practice of the Texas A&M University System to achieve the annual HUB program goals by contracting directly with HUBs or indirectly through subcontracting opportunities in accordance with the applicable Texas Government Codes. Therefore, the System, entering into a contract, regardless of value or funds, shall, before the solicitation of bids, proposals, offers, or other applicable expressions of interest, determine if it is probable for subcontracting opportunities under the contract. If subcontracting opportunities are probable, the System will state such probability in its bids, proposals, offers or other applicable expressions of interest and require the submission of a HUB Subcontracting Plan (HSP) by the prime or general contractor.

For the State of Texas HUB Subcontracting Plan, click here.

Mentor/Protege Program

It is the intent of the Mentor/Protégé Program to build an effective, long-term working relationship between established businesses (mentor) and newly-formed minority and/or woman-owned businesses (protégé) who are certified by the State of Texas as Historically Underutilized Businesses (HUBs) for the latter to benefit from the knowledge and experience of the established business.

A Mentor firm is a larger, well established and successful company who is willing to unselfishly commit time and resources to teach, develop, and provide guidance that will help the Protégé firm grow and succeed. Mentors have been successful and are willing to give back to the community.

A Protégé firm is a smaller firm, certified as a HUB, with a vision and qualification for growth.

The relationship between the mentor and protégé should provide the following:

  1. Enhance and strengthen the capacity of the HUB to contract with state agencies or to receive subcontracting opportunities from a state contract;
  2. Foster long-term relationships between the general or prime contractor and HUBs;
  3. Increase the ability of HUBs to contract with the State or to receive subcontracts under a State contract;
  4. Realize protégé’s company leaders competency in select areas of identified need; and,
  5. Protégé’s increased ability to realize long-term stability in their respective field.

The Mentor/Protégé Agreement must state that the program is voluntary, and there is no guarantee that a business contract will result between the team or agency.

Mentor/Protege Program Forms and Guides

Contact

For more information concerning the System’s HUB Program, please call the Texas A&M University System’s HUB Office at 979-458-3265.

 

Member HUB Coordinator E-Mail Address Phone
Texas A&M University 
Texas A&M University at Galveston
Cindy Gillar c-gillar@tamu.edu 979-845-9010
Texas A&M University – Central Texas Johnathan Fuselier j.fuselier@tamuct.edu 254-519-5477
Texas A&M University – Commerce Travis Ball travis.ball@tamuc.edu 903-886-5060
Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi Ruben Gonzalez ruben.gonzalez@tamucc.edu 361-825-5822
Texas A&M University-Kingsville Rachel Buentello Rachel.Buentello@tamuk.edu 361-593-4068
Prairie View A&M University A. Marie Johnson amjohnson@pvamu.edu 936-261-1739
Texas A&M International University Ann E. Guitierrez ann.gutierrez@tamiu.edu 956-326-2346
Texas A&M University – San Antonio Chris Scott Christopher.Scott@tamusa.edu 210-784-2038
West Texas A&M University Elaine Chew echew@wtamu.edu 806-651-2110
Tarleton State University Cori Luttrell luttrell@tarleton.edu 254-968-1683
Texas A&M University-Texarkana Cynthia Henderson cynthia.henderson@tamut.edu 903-223-3053
Texas A&M AgriLife Jaime Vykukal jaime.vykukal@ag.tamu.edu 979-458-5988
Texas A&M Forest Service Alan Degelman adegelman@tfs.tamu.edu 979-458-7381
Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station Mary Williams me-williams@tamu.edu 979-458-7434
Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service Yvette Tschirhart yvette.tschirhart@teex.tamu.edu 979-458-6794
Texas A&M Health Science Center Robby Bounds rbounds@tamu.edu 979-845-4534
Texas A&M Transportation Institute Krystal Schnettler k-schnettler@tti.tamu.edu 979-317-2744
Texas Division of Emergency Management Earl Smothers earl.smothers@tdem.texas.gov 512-424-2107