Vice Chancellor for Research

Joe Elabd, Ph.D.

Interim Vice Chancellor for Research
Moore/Connally Building, 7th Floor
301 Tarrow Street
College Station, Texas 77840-7896
Phone 979.458.5598
Fax: 979.458.6044

Dr. Joe Elabd is the Interim Vice Chancellor for Research at The Texas A&M University System; a system of 11 universities and 8 state agencies with externally funded research expenditures exceeding $1 billion annually. As the leader of the A&M System Office of Research, Dr. Elabd is responsible for providing leadership and services to support all 19 system members in areas including research development, research partnerships, research strategy, research compliance, and intellectual property and commercialization. Dr. Elabd is also serving as the Associate Dean for Research in the College of Engineering at Texas A&M University. In his role as Associate Dean, Dr. Elabd leads industry and non-profit partnerships and helps guide research strategy, research development, and proposal development, and coordinates with multiple Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES) offices, including contracts, ethics and compliance, and commercialization and entrepreneurship.

Dr. Elabd is also a Professor and the Axalta Coating Systems Chair II in the Artie McFerrin Department of Chemical Engineering at Texas A&M University. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and served as a Senior Fellow at the Instituto di Studi Avanzati, Università di Bologna and a Scholar in Residence at the Food & Drug Administration. He has received numerous research awards including the NSF CAREER Award, DuPont Science and Engineering Award, and the ARO Young Investigator Award. His research focuses on electrochemical energy (batteries, capacitors, fuel cells) and materials and polymer science and he has authored over 130 research journal publications. Dr. Elabd has taught chemical engineering courses at all levels (freshmen, sophomore, junior, senior, and graduate).

Dr. Elabd received his Ph.D. and B.S. both in chemical engineering from Johns Hopkins University and University of Maryland, Baltimore County, respectively, and was a National Research Council Postdoctoral Fellow at the U.S. Army Research Laboratory.