Teaching Excellence »

The Texas A&M University System awarded $507,000 to outstanding faculty throughout the system in the second presentation of the Teaching Excellence Awards, a voluntary, student-selected honors program launched last fall. For the spring 2009 semester, the program expanded to all the campuses in the A&M System. All faculty who teach at least a 3-hour course are eligible.

The 144 faculty winners received checks ranging from $2,500 to $10,000. Texas A&M University had the most recipients, with 54, followed by Texas A&M University-Commerce, 17; Prairie View A&M University, 15; Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, 13; West Texas A&M University, 12; Texas A&M International University, 10; Texas A&M University-Kingsville, 9; Texas A&M University at Galveston, 7; Tarleton State University, 4; Texas A&M University-Texarkana, 3.

The recipients represent the top 20 percent of those who participated. The top 5 percent are awarded $5,000 to $10,000. The next 15 percent receive $2,500 to $5,000. Awards are based on rankings from evaluations created and administered by students, with weighting for factors such as class size. Winners in the top 5 percent category, by campus are:

Texas A&M

Norvella Carter

Daniel Jennings

Christine Townsend

Amy Austin

James Herman

Angela Allen

Arnold Krammer

Wesley Watson

Haipeng Chen

Jamie Callahan

Michael Stephenson

David Cairns

Joanna Lahey

Texas A&M Galveston

David Lawhon

Carol Bunch Davis

Prarie View A&M University

Clarissa Booker

Lisa Thompson

Immaculata Igbo

Orion Ciftja

Alex Colvin


Kayla Peak

Michelle Staples

Jennifer Bow

Texas A&M International University

Patricia Gonzalez

Patrica Uribe

Veronica Juarez

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi

Pingjung Tintera

David Moury

Kelly Russell

Walter Sherman

Jim Lee

Bunny Forgione

Texas A&M-Kingsville

Fred Ponder

Scott Henke

West Texas A&M University

Ruby Willey-Rendon

Teri Bingham

Melody Loya

Texas A&M-Commerce

Matthew Elam

Jennifer Schroeder

Rhonda Clark

Raymond Green

Jason Wicke

Rebecca Stephens

Texas A&M-Texarkana

Callie Fortenberry