System Academic Council »

The System Academic Council, composed of the Chief Academic Officers (Provosts/Vice President for Academic Affairs [VPAA]) of the member institutions and Health Science Center, meet 4-6 times per year to discuss current and upcoming academic initiatives for the A&M System.

Prairie View A&M University

Dr. E. Joahanne Thomas-Smith
Provost & Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
(936) 261-2175 (Traci Chernosky)
(936) 261-2176 (fax)
ejthomas-smith@pvamu.edu

Tarleton State University

Dr. Karen Murray
Provost & Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
(254) 968-9992 (Abi Foreman)
(254) 968-9920 (fax)
kmurray@tarleton.edu

Texas A&M University - Central Texas 

Dr. Peg Gray-Vickrey
Provost & Vice President for Academic & Student Affairs
(254) 519-5447 (Sanfrena Britt)
(254) 519-5742 (fax)
Gray-vickrey@tamuct.edu

Texas A&M International University

Dr. Pablo Arenaz
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
(956) 326-2240 (Marta Esparza)
(956) 326-2239 (fax)
pablo.arenaz@tamiu.edu

Texas A&M University

Dr. Karan L. Watson
Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
(979) 845-4016 (Vivian Gonzales)
(979) 845-6994 (fax)
watson@tamu.edu

Texas A&M University at Galveston

Dr. Patrick Louchouarn
Vice-President for Academic Affairs and Chief Academic Officer (TAMUG)
Associate Provost (TAMU)
(409) 740-4929 (Cari Bishop-Smith)
(409) 740-4407 (fax)
louchoup@tamug.edu

Texas A&M University- Commerce

Dr. Adolfo Benavides
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
(903) 886-5018 (Cynthia Rhodes)
(903) 886-5019 (fax)
adolfo.benavides@tamuc.edu

Texas A&M University- Corpus Christi

Dr. Christopher Markwood
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
(361) 825-2722 (Rebecca Jimenez)
(361) 825-5810 (fax)
chris.markwood@tamucc.edu

Texas A&M University-Kingsville

Dr. Rex F. Gandy
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
(361) 593-3108 (Pam Trant)
(361) 593-3107 (fax)
rex.gandy@tamuk.edu

Texas A&M University - San Antonio

Dr. Brent M. Snow
Provost & Vice President for Academic Affairs
(210) 784-1201 (Esperanza Anaya)
(210) 784-1206 (Fax)
brent.snow@tamusa.tamus.edu

Texas A&M University- Texarkana

Dr. Rosanne Stripling
Provost & Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs
(903) 223-3004 (Deborah Abrahamson)
(903) 223-3134 (fax)
rosanne.stripling@tamut.edu

West Texas A&M University

Dr. Wade Shaffer
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
806-651-2044 (Beth Lauterbach)
806-651-2932 (fax)
wshaffer@wtamu.edu

Health Science Center

Dr. Vernon Tesh
Vice President for Academic Affairs (TAMHSC)
(979) 436-9112 (Lucy Rodriguez)
(979) 436-0072 (fax)
tesh@medicine.tamhsc.edu


The Texas A&M University System

Dr. James Hallmark
Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
301 Tarrow Street, 7th Floor
College Station, TX 77840-7896
(979) 458-6070 (Shauna King)
(979) 458-6044 (fax)
jhallmark@tamus.edu

 Updated 8/13/2014